Director of Soldier Settlement and Director of the Veterans' Land Act.—The Director of Soldier Settlement (under the Act of 1919) is also the Director of the Veterans' Land Act, and in either capacity is legally a corporation sole. For administrative purposes however the programs carried on under both Acts constitute integral parts of the services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Dominion Coal Board.—The Board, created in 1947 under the Dominion Coal Board Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 86), is charged with the duty of studying and recommending to the Government policies respecting the production, importation, distribution and use of coal in Canada. It also administers transportation subventions, other subsidies relating to coal and loans authorized under the Maritime Coal Production Assistance Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 170). The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys.

Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.—The Board was appointed in 1947 under the Eastern Rocky Mountain Forest Conservation Act which authorized an agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Alberta relating to the protection and conservation of the forests of that area of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which forms part of the watershed of the Saskatchewan River. The function of the Board is to plan, supervise and undertake construction, operation and maintenance of projects and facilities necessary for the proper protection of the forests of the area to obtain the greatest possible flow of water in the Saskatchewan River and its tributaries.

During the first seven years of the agreement the Federal Government undertook to provide \$6,300,000 for capital expenditure and Alberta to provide funds for maintenance expenditures. During the period of capital expenditure the Federal Government agreed to appoint the Chairman and one member and the Province one member. After the capital period the arrangement was that the Federal Government appoint one member and that the Government of Alberta appoint two members and name one of the three as Chairman. This latter arrangement became effective on Apr. 1, 1955 when the capital period expired as a result of an amendment to the Act dated July 1952. Consequently the Province of Alberta is now responsible for all future capital and maintenance costs of this area. Under the new arrangement the Province selected the federal member as Chairman, supported by two provincial members. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. (See footnote, p. 114.)

Eldorado Aviation Limited.—Incorporated Apr. 23, 1953 to carry air traffic, both passenger and freight, for Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited and its wholly owned subsidiary, Northern Transportation Company Limited, the Company reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited.—Set up in 1944 under the name of Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited (the date was omitted from the name in June 1952), the Company's business is that of prospecting for, mining and refining uranium ores in Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Export Credits Insurance Corporation.—This Company commenced operations in 1945 under the Exports Credits Insurance Act, 1944 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 105) and is administered by a Board of Directors (including the Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce, the Deputy Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Bank of Canada) with the advice of an Advisory Council. Its function is to insure Canadian exporters against non-payment by foreign buyers arising out of credit and political risks involved in foreign trade. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Federal District Commission.—This Commission had its genesis in the Ottawa Improvement Commission, established by Parliament in 1899 to improve and beautify the National Capital by the development and construction of parks and driveways and to co-operate with the City of Ottawa in local improvement and conservation. Its membership is honorary in character and is appointed by the Governor in Council, and it reports to the Prime Minister. In 1927 the organization's name was changed to the Federal District Commission, its scope of operations widened to include adjacent areas, and its membership increased to ten. Under the FDC Act, one representative each of the cities of Ottawa and Hull (usually the mayor) is included in its membership.

The Commission maintains the grounds of all federal buildings in the National Capital area and landscapes the grounds of new government buildings. In the Ottawa-Hull area (exclusive of Gatineau Park), the Commission has developed over 3,000 acres of urban parks and 22 miles of scenie driveways.